Abrams, Harold
Ain, Gregory
Alexander, Robert E.
Anderson, Guy
Antelline, Jon P.
Applebaum, Norm
Batter-Kay Associates
Beadle, Alfred
Beckett, Welton
Benedict, Hiram Hudson
Bird, Fujimoto & Fish
Bonini, Vincent
Brownell, J. Herbert
Buff, Straub and Hensman
Campbell, Donald
Cody, William F.
Crane, Loch
Dammann, Bruce
Davis, Ronald K.
Decker, Arthur
Delawie, Homer
Des Lauriers, Robert
Drake, Gordon
Eckel, George
Eggers, Henry
Ellwood, Craig
Ferris, Robert
Fickett, Edward
Forester, Russell
Fowble, Robert
French, Stanley J.
Frey, Albert
Gill, Irving
Goldberg, Bertrand
Goldman, Donald
Gordon, Kenneth & Robert
Grossman, Greta
Hagadone, Walter
Harris, Harwell Hamilton
Henderson, John
Hester, Henry
Hope, Frank
Hufbauer, Clyde
Hubbell, James
Jones, A. Quincy
Jones, Robert E.
Kahn, Louis
Kellogg, Dick
Kellogg, Kendrick Bangs
Kesling, William
Killingsworth, Brady & Smith
Kowalski, Joseph
Krisel, William
Ladd, Thornton
Lareau, Richard
Lautner, John
Leitch, Richard
Liebhardt, Frederick
Livingstone, Fred
Loring, Arthur
Lotery, Rex
Lumpkins, William
Lykos, George
Macy, Al
Malone, Ed
Marr, Clinton
Matthews, Roger
May, Cliff
McKim, Paul
Mitchell, Delmar
Mock, John
Mortenson, John
Mosher & Drew
Naegle, Dale
Neptune & Thomas
Neutra, Richard
Nomland & Nomland
Norris, Fred
Paderewski, CJ
Patrick, William
Paul & Allard
Paulson, Ted
Periera & Luckman
Platt, Robert
Ray, Eugene
Reed, John
Richards, Sim Bruce
Risley and Gould
Rosser, William
Ruocco, Lloyd
Salerno, Daniel
Schindler, Rudolph
Schoell & Geritz
Sigurdson, John
Simpson and Gerber
Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Slatton, William
Soriano, Raphael
Spencer & Lee
Stimmel, William
Stone, Edward Durrell
Therkelsen, Lloyde
Tucker, Sadler & Bennett
Turner, Herb
Veitzer, Leonard
Vickery, Dean
Weir Brothers
Weston, Eugene III
Wheeler, Richard
Wright, Frank Lloyd
Wright, John Lloyd
Wright, Lloyd
Wulff and Fifield

Bird, Fujimoto & Fish

The firm of Freeland, Bird & Associates (1964-67) and later Bird, Fujimoto & Fish (established in 1967) was comprised of principals James Wright Bird, Walter Fujimoto, and Charles William Fish.

James Bird was born in National City in 1926. Following service in the U.S. Navy (1944-46), Bird secured his BA in architecture from USC in 1953. Moving back to San Diego, he joined the local chapter of the AIA in 1955. He would serve as San Diego's chapter treasurer (1959-60), president (1961) and director (1962).

Walter Fujimoto was born in San Diego in 1925. He served in the U.S. Army (1951-53) following graduation from the IIT in 1949 with a BS in Architecture.

Charles Fish was born in Dayton, Ohio in 1925. Following service in the U.S. Army (1945-47), Fish secured his BS in Architecture from the University of Cincinnati (June, 1952) before packing up his wife, Shirley, their belongings and two toddlers in a used Chevrolet and heading out west. He found work in offices in both Riverside and Redlands before joining up with Stanley Clarke Meston in Fontana. Meston's office was small - himself, secretary Sara Arhlent and a young beginning draftsman Jack Sparks. Fish worked in Meston's office for 4.5 years a span of time which included the design of the very first McDonald’s restaurant. He began working with Jim Bird as early as 1959 after moving to San Diego. During Charle's career he designed six private residences, one of which was not built.

Partial List of Projects

Bachelor Officers' Quarters (1969)
San Diego,

Fifth Avenue Financial Center (1965)
2550 Fifth Avenue

Hipodromo-Galgodromo (1966)
Cuidad Juarez, Mexico

McDonald's #1 - Phoenix

McDonald’s Franchise #1 (1952)
Phoenix, AZ
*Fish worked on the design while working in Stanley Clarke Meston office

National City Civic Center (1967)

Palomar Mt. Camp & Camp Cuyamaca (1969)
San Diego County

Read, Robert and Phyllis Residence (1956)
5525 Alta Canada Road, La Canada CA
Featured in LA Times Home Magazine in early '57

Westgate Hotel (1970)
1055 Second Avenue, San Diego