Abrams, Harold
Ain, Gregory
Alexander, Robert E.
Anderson, Guy
Antelline, Jon P.
Applebaum, Norm
Batter-Kay Associates
Beadle, Alfred
Beckett, Welton
Benedict, Hiram Hudson
Bird, Fujimoto & Fish
Bonini, Vincent
Brownell, J. Herbert
Buff, Straub and Hensman
Campbell, Donald
Cody, William F.
Crane, Loch
Dammann, Bruce
Davis, Ronald K.
Decker, Arthur
Delawie, Homer
Des Lauriers, Robert
Drake, Gordon
Eckel, George
Eggers, Henry
Ellwood, Craig
Ferris, Robert
Fickett, Edward
Forester, Russell
Fowble, Robert
French, Stanley J.
Frey, Albert
Gill, Irving
Goldberg, Bertrand
Goldman, Donald
Gordon, Kenneth & Robert
Grossman, Greta
Hagadone, Walter
Harris, Harwell Hamilton
Henderson, John
Hester, Henry
Hope, Frank
Hufbauer, Clyde
Hubbell, James
Jones, A. Quincy
Jones, Robert E.
Kahn, Louis
Kellogg, Dick
Kellogg, Kendrick Bangs
Kesling, William
Killingsworth, Brady & Smith
Kowalski, Joseph
Krisel, William
Ladd, Thornton
Lareau, Richard
Lautner, John
Leitch, Richard
Liebhardt, Frederick
Livingstone, Fred
Loring, Arthur
Lotery, Rex
Lumpkins, William
Lykos, George
Macy, Al
Malone, Ed
Marr, Clinton
Matthews, Roger
May, Cliff
McKim, Paul
Mitchell, Delmar
Mock, John
Mortenson, John
Mosher & Drew
Naegle, Dale
Neptune & Thomas
Neutra, Richard
Nomland & Nomland
Norris, Fred
Paderewski, CJ
Patrick, William
Paul & Allard
Paulson, Ted
Periera & Luckman
Platt, Robert
Ray, Eugene
Reed, John
Richards, Sim Bruce
Risley and Gould
Rosser, William
Ruocco, Lloyd
Salerno, Daniel
Schindler, Rudolph
Schoell & Geritz
Sigurdson, John
Simpson and Gerber
Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Slatton, William
Soriano, Raphael
Spencer & Lee
Stimmel, William
Stone, Edward Durrell
Therkelsen, Lloyde
Tucker, Sadler & Bennett
Turner, Herb
Veitzer, Leonard
Vickery, Dean
Weir Brothers
Weston, Eugene III
Wheeler, Richard
Wright, Frank Lloyd
Wright, John Lloyd
Wright, Lloyd
Wulff and Fifield

Deems, Lewis, Martin & Associates

Ward Wyatt Deems Biography

William S. Lewis Jr. Biography

Early History of the Architectural Firm

In 1954 with his degree in hand from USC's School of Architecture, Ward Deems joined the Los Angeles firm of AC Martin (partners Albert C. Martin, Jr. and J. Edward Martin). William ("Bill") S. Lewis Jr., having also recently graduated from the same program (in 1953), joined the firm shortly thereafter.

Ward Deems was appointed an Associate of the Firm in 1958 while Bill Lewis served as lead designer on several projects. During the years 1958-59, Deems explored the potential of opening an office in San Diego - then a cheaper, slower-paced city surviving on tourism and military spending. When Ward advised the Martins of his plan to move south they saw in this an opportunity to expand their operation. Together they decided to open a San Diego office.

In April 1959, a corporate agreement was signed to launch Deems-Martin Associates. At the time, Bill Lewis was completing the design of the May Company store in Mission Valley and agreed to join Deems in launching the new company. With financial and brand support from the AC Martin firm, they opened their office in the El Cortez Building – Ward being responsible for public relations and business development functions. Bill Lewis focused on design and project management. Within a few years, Bill became a co-owner and the firm became Deems Lewis Martin & Associates.

One of their earliest, most notable, and visible to the public, projects, the steel screen ensconced Crabtree Building (at 3rd & A Streets) was designed by Robert Jones (who would later join in partnership with Henry Hester).

In 1961, the firm Deems/Lewis & Partners worked its way through their first San Diego recession. Embracing the city-wide motto “Try San Diego First” they and other firms worked to keep clients from heading to Los Angeles to have their projects designed. The firm watched San Diego grow larger and more sophisticated. One important milestone was the shift of retail from downtown to Mission Valley as Walker Scott and Marston's folded – in part because of their design for Mission Valley shopping center.

As the firm changed its shingle from Deems-Martin Associates to Deems Lewis Martin & Associates, then to Deems/Lewis & Partners and subsequently to Deems Lewis McKinley Architects, and grew rapidly in its first few decades, many strong architects cut their teeth in the drafting room. Several of these architects would strike out on their own, or join other partnerships to put their stamp on San Diego’s built environment. Among these were Robert E. Jones (1960-61), Edward Malone, Donald Goldman (1962-64), Walt Conwell, Jerry Shonkweiler, John Stevenson, James A. Purcell, John McKinley, Neil Larson, Jack Carpenter and several others.

Partial List of San Diego Projects

Carter-Higgins Office Building (1963)
2250 Fifth Avenue, San Diego, CA

Christ The King Lutheran Church
Photograph by George Lyons (ca. 1960), captures the context Russell Forester's crucifix

Christ The King Lutheran Church (circa 1959) (now Saint Ephrem Church)
750 Medford Street
Designd by Deems Martin Associates

Christ The King Lutheran Church

Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints
5299 Trojan Avenue, San Diego

Crabtree Building

Crabtree Office Building (1961)
Project Architect: Robert Jones, AIA
Honor Award, AIA San Diego Chapter

El Cortez Convention Center (1960)
7th Avenue and Beech Street
Project Architect: Edward Malone, AIA
Award of Merit, AIA San Diego Chapter

Financial Square
San Diego Federal Building (1972)
Sixth Avenue and ‘B’ Street, San Diego, CA

Hillcrest North Medical Center

Hillcrest North Medical Center (1964)
550 Fifth Avenue at Washington Street, San Diego, CA
Building of the Year, San Diego Magazine

Humanities Library-Galbraith Hall (1965)
UCSD Revelle College. La Jolla, CA
Building of the Year, San Diego Magazine

Industrial Indemnity. Photograph by Darren Bradley

Industrial Indemnity (1970-74)
3255 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA
AIA Honor Award (Phase 1)
AIA Award of Merit (Phase 2), AIA San Diego Chapter

LKRD Medical Office Building (1970)
3260 3rd Street, San Diego, CA
AIA Award of Merit, AIA San Diego Chapter

Mission Valley Center

Mission Valley Center (ca. 1960)
San Diego

Orr, Dr. & Mrs. Robert J. Residence (1960)
2382 Via Capri Court, La Jolla, CA
Award of Merit, AIA San Diego Chapter

Rubin, Seltzer, Soloman Bldg.

Rubin, Seltzer & Soloman Building (1964)
3003 Fourth Avenue
Notes: Recently remodeled with bad diagonal patio enclosure after recent fire.

Ruselso Office Building (1963)           
3003 Fourth Avenue, San Diego, CA
Note: Badly remodeled
Project Architect:  Donald Goldman, AIA
Award of Merit, AIA San Diego Chapter

San Diego County Welfare Office Building (1963)
HHFA First Honor Award

Torrey Pines High School (1976)
3710 Del Mar Heights Road, Del Mar, CA
Honor Award, Unit Masonry Association

U.S. Customs Station (1969)
San Ysidro, CA

U.S. Navy Anti-Submarine Warfare School Mess Hall (1967)
Nimitz Blvd and Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA

U.S. Navy Enlisted Men’s Barracks (1964)
Anti Submarine Warfare School.
Harbor Drive and Nimitz Blvd
AIA Honor Award, AIA San Diego Chapter

U.S. Post Office Facility (1972)
2535 Midway Drive, San Diego, CA
AIA Award of Merit, AIA San Diego Chapter

Voigt, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Voigt Residence for (December 1968)
1209 Crest Road, Del Mar