Abrams, Harold
Ain, Gregory
Alexander, Robert E.
Anderson, Guy
Antelline, Jon P.
Applebaum, Norm
Batter-Kay Associates
Beadle, Alfred
Beckett, Welton
Benedict, Hiram Hudson
Bernard, James
Bird, Fujimoto & Fish
Bonini, Vincent
Brownell, J. Herbert
Brydegaard, Herluf
Buff, Straub and Hensman
Campbell, Donald
Cody, William F.
Crane, Loch
Dammann, Bruce
Davis, Ronald K.
Decker, Arthur
Deems, Ward
Delawie, Homer
Des Lauriers, Robert
Drake, Gordon
Driskel, Jean Roth
Eckel, George
Eggers, Henry
Ellwood, Craig
Ferris, Robert
Fickett, Edward
Forester, Russell
Fowble, Robert
French, Stanley J.
Frey, Albert
Gill, Irving
Goldberg, Bertrand
Goldman, Donald
Gordon, Kenneth & Robert
Grossman, Greta
Hagadone, Walter
Harris, Harwell Hamilton
Henderson, John
Hester, Henry
Hope, Frank
Hufbauer, Clyde
Hubbell, James
Johnson, Philip
Jones, A. Quincy
Jones, Robert E.
Jung, Raymond
Kahn, Louis
Kellogg, Dick
Kellogg, Kendrick Bangs
Kesling, William
Killingsworth, Brady & Smith
Kowalski, Joseph
Krisel, William
Ladd, Thornton
Lareau, Richard
Lautner, John
Leitch, Richard
Lewis, Bill
Liebhardt, Frederick
Livingstone, Fred
Loring, Arthur
Lotery, Rex
Lumpkins, William
Lykos, George
Macy, Al
Malone, Ed
Marr, Clinton
Matthews, Roger
May, Cliff
McKim, Paul
Mitchell, Delmar
Mock, John
Mortenson, John
Mosher & Drew
Naegle, Dale
Neptune & Thomas
Neutra, Richard
Nomland & Nomland
Norris, Fred
Paderewski, CJ
Patrick, William
Paul & Allard
Paulson, Ted
Periera & Luckman
Platt, Robert
Ray, Eugene
Reed, John
Richards, Sim Bruce
Risley and Gould
Rosser, William
Ruocco, Lloyd

Salerno, Daniel
Schindler, Rudolph
Schoell & Geritz
Sigurdson, John
Simpson and Gerber
Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Slatton, Bill
Smith and Williams
Soriano, Raphael
Spencer & Lee
Stimmel, William
Stone, Edward Durrell
Therkelsen, Lloyde
Tucker, Sadler & Bennett
Turner, Herb
Veitzer, Leonard
Vickery, Dean
Weir Brothers
Weston, Eugene III
Wheeler, Richard
Wright, Frank Lloyd
Wright, John Lloyd
Wright, Lloyd
Wulff and Fifield
Young, Richard

Herluf J. Brydegaard (1911-1961)

Herluf Thomas Jensen Brydegaard was born on January 12, 1911 in Svendborg, Denmark. After 10 years at Haahrs Private School in Svendborg, the youth graduated, in 1928, before becoming a carpenter’s apprentice and initiating night classes at Svendborg Tekniske Skoe – where he graduated in 1933. After three years at Odense Tekniske Skole, also in Denmark, he graduated in 1936.

The young professional served as an engineer for W. Madsen Architect (1936-37) in Svendborg prior to his work as a draftsman for William Templeton Johnson (1941-42) in San Diego. In 1942, he moved to Kistner & Curtis Architects where he also worked as a draftsman. Between 1943-47, Mr. Brydegaard worked as ‘Draftsman & Chief’ for William P. Lodge Architect. Prior to opening up his own office at 423 Date Street (in November, 1948), the young man served as Draftsman & Designer for Sam W. Hammill, Architect (1947-48). In 1947, Herluf returned to Europe where according to him “...a five months study and field trip was made to Finland, Sweden, Norway and Denmark.”

He became a licensed architect in California in 1948 and became an associate of the San Diego chapter of the AIA in 1949. In his 1955 AIA membership application, ‘Proposer’ Lloyd Ruocco stated that he had known Herluf for 15 years. While Lloyd and Herluf collaborated professionally, the enduring friendship between their wives, Ilse and Marguerite, and with people like ceramic artist Laura Andreson kept their views of design and creativity at the edge of contemporary thought through much of their careers.

Brydegaard’s office served as a starting ground for local architects as well. For example, shortly after becoming licensed, in 1950, architect Robert Ferris worked as Project Architect in Brydegaard’s office and in 1952 when one of the first young grads from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo’s architecture school, Homer Delawie, arrived in San Diego he joined up with the 10-person office.

Partial List of Projects

Apartment Building (1954)
West side of First Avenue between Brooks and Pennsylvania

Boyden, Donald Residence and Addition (1949)
Southwest corner of Elm and 3rd Avenue

Clairemont Branch Public Library (1958)
2920 Burgener Boulevard

Clairemont Junior High School (1954)

George Washington Carver Elementary School (1954-55)
3251 Juanita Street

Grossmont High School Master Plan and Additions (1955-59)
1100 Murray Drive, El Cajon

Harvey J. Jewis Junior High School (1958)
5170 Greenbrier Avenue

J & A Supermarket
National City

John Ballantyne Elementary School Additions and Alterations (1956)
*closed in 2004

John Greenleaf Whittier Elementary School (1952-54)
3401 Clairemont Drive 

KFSD TV, AM, FM (1958) 
47th & Highway 94, San Diego 
*with Lloyd Ruocco, Associate Architect

Magnolia Valley Elementary School and Additions (1956-58)
650 Greenfield Drive, El Cajon

Monte Vista High School (1961)
3230 Sweetwater Springs Boulevard

Mount Miguel Senior High School (1959) 
8585 Blossom Lane 

Private Residence (1956)
3310 Lucinda Street, Point Loma

Southwest High School (1954-56)

Will Angier School
8450 Hurlbut Street